Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe founding members


The Troupe

Nate Jacobs started the Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe as a not-for-profit, 501(c)(3), with five founding members: Apphia Campbell, Jnana Wilson Cooper, Henry Porter II, his sister Tsadok Porter, and Teresa Stanley. Some have become professionals in the field, while others have gone on to different careers. However, when possible, they perform with WBTT for specific events or limited engagements.

WBTT has grown to become unique in today’s theatre world. We provide a professional platform for gifted minority artists—rising or experienced—to showcase their talents as actors, dancers, singers, musicians, choreographers, directors, and playwrights.

Troupe members consist of many accomplished artists who have made a significant commitment to WBTT and consider our theatre their home. We also include a number of young aspiring performers who, through our mentorship program, have the opportunity to develop their skills alongside the professionals.

In addition, WBTT invites experienced guest artists from around the country to enhance our productions with their special talents.

As a member of the Actors’ Equity Association, we hold auditions yearly, but accept resumes throughout the year. We invite any interested artist to contact us.


Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe 20th Anniversary Curtain Call


Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe

Founder & Artistic Director - Nate Jacobs

Executive Director - Julie Leach

Administrative Staff

  • Education & Outreach Associate – Peterly Jean-Baptiste
  • Development Associate – Regina Belvin
  • Artist Relations Associate and Assistant Box Office Manager – Ariel Blue
  • Development Director – Debra Flynt-Garrett
  • Receptionist & Box Office Associate – Arnette German
  • Finance Manager – Robert Grant
  • Marketing and Communications Director – Beth Graves
  • Box Office Associate – Margaret Lindsey
  • House Manager – Myllanna McKinnon
  • Box Office Manager – Eleanor Miller
  • Marketing Associate – Maicy Powell
  • Education Director and Artistic Associate – Jim Weaver
  • Assistant to the Artistic Director and Casting Coordinator – Donovan Whitney

Production Staff

  • Shop Foreman  Roland Black
  • Resident Property Artisan Manager – Annette Breazeale
  • Seamstress – Darci Collins
  • Choreographer – Donald Frison
  • Sound Assistant – Austin Jacobs
  • Resident Sound Engineer – Alexander Judd
  • Facilities Custodian - Gerald Law
  • Resident Music Director – Matthew McKinnon
  • House Associate / Stage Hand – Mydra McKinnon
  • Production Stage Manager – Juanita Munford*
  • Stage Hand – Amber Myers
  • Resident Lighting Designer  Michael Pasquini
  • Wardrobe Manager – Adrienne Pitts
  • Resident Sound Designer – Patrick Russini
  • Resident Director – Chuck Smith
  • Production Manager – Kevin White

* Member of Actors' Equity Association (AEA), the Union of Professional Actors and Stage Managers in the United States.